Our Sentiments

Mothering and Life in General

What We Did Not Learn In High School

I have been successfully breastfeeding my daughter for almost 52 Weeks now. I enjoy the bond, the way she looks so content, the way her smooth hands has to be touching me at all times. I enjoy the fact that my body has built her body. I want to extend nurse her for what ever time she needs it for.

One night she awoke and as she laid there in my arms so soft and warm, I came to think about how badly I want her remember these moments, just her and I. I want her to remember how content we both were, and how I gave up my sleep for her, without a second thought. Just to be with her.

Then I came to think, we are taught at a young age on our bodies, what happens in puberty, how to create another, but we never learned the natural way to “grow” a baby. Why is that exactly? Why was I never told about this? Why can’t this be brought into the school systems? Maybe not in grade 4, but what about in high school (where some women get pregnant).

I just don’t understand why so much information was left out. I personally would love to go into a class and talk about my nursing experiences with my daughter, I am a proud mother who breastfeeds. I just think there should be more education about it. What do you think?

5 responses to “What We Did Not Learn In High School

  1. Erin W. November 27, 2009 at 2:07 am

    First, thanks so much for stopping by my blog! I really appreciate it!

    Second – I am somewhat on the fence here. Don’t get me wrong – I LOVE LOVE LOVE the way that I feel when I’m laying with my daughter and just filled with this intense sense of calm… (How funny – intense calm. What other way to describe it though, huh?) Heck, I just posted yesterday in a status update, “Having an oxytocin rush… *siiiiiiiiiigh*” But at the same time, I feel like describing this feeling might be misconstrued as encouraging young girls to go out and get pregnant before they are ready to have children.

    I don’t know though. As I’m writing this, I keep going back and forth on how I feel about relating this feeling to young women. I think it’s important to express, but I also think that it’s something that, until experienced, can never fully be understood.

    I’m going to think on this and get back to you. HAHA. Great post!

  2. Our Sentiments November 27, 2009 at 10:58 am

    I can understand fully what you are saying and the concerns you have about educating youth about breastfeeding. However I feel that this education encouraging a young women to become a mother not related. It’s almost like saying if you educate about sexual intercourse then you are giving youth the green card to having sex.

    In educating, I was thinking more about seeing breastfeeding, stating the total heath value in the nursing mother and child, physically and emotionally. How Breastmilk is made, and going through myths about breastfeeding. More for advocacy and awareness that if and when you do get pregnant, there is other options to feeding your child.

    We do have to face it, youth are having sex. Not each and every one of them, but some are. With sex comes pregnancy YKWIM?

  3. Erin W. November 30, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    I see what you’re saying. I guess, by the logic I presented earlier, it is a lot like saying sex education = encouragement to go have sex. Just because we’re saying bf is enjoyable it doesn’t mean we are saying, “Go out and get pregnant so you can experience the joys of bf.” Hell, sex is enjoyable but we’re not teaching kids about it so they can do it before they are ready, rather so that when they do have sex they can do it as safely as possible. Am I making sense here?

  4. Our Sentiments December 1, 2009 at 1:41 am

    You’ve made sense on both comments. I fully understood what you are saying. I have to remember my upbringing was different then a lot of others. Sex was talked about since we were old enough to ask questions about it. My mother wanted us to know our bodies, and our father did not want us to be ashamed of sex. It was done tactfully and honestly, IMO. I think when a person knows all the information they can make an informed choice. Then again, I am against the grain on a lot of things, what is right for me might not be right for others.

    I do think, if early pregnancy is all I have to be worried about our daughter experiencing, I will be laughing. In this world of rape, abductions and substance abuse; pregnancy will be a piece of cake. Then again, Our daughter’s future does scare me.

  5. Erin W. December 2, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    I just wanted to let you know that I’m really enjoying your blog and exchanging ideas with you. I look forward to your next post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

