Our Sentiments

Mothering and Life in General

Knock, I Dare You!

Don’t you just love it when you are rocking your child in the chair and you hear a knock at the door? Of course your child just closed their eyes, but not quite there yet, to place them down without crying. Many thoughts go through your head. Is that someone I know? WAS I expecting someone I know to come over? Meanwhile your baby/child is in your arms and the knocks are getting louder. So you sigh, with your child still nursing and cradled in your arms, you go to the door to open it. Only to find out it’s someone you DIDN’T know, and was NOT expecting; wanting to sell you something or for you to donate something. Now your child is awake and ready to take on the world. But you know that would have happened anyways, if you did not answer the door. Because somehow they KNOW you’re inside, not wanting to answer so they knock LOUDER (like you did not hear them the first time).

So here is what I am thinking on pinning on the door (please note I live in an apartment building so this happens A LOT).

NO SOLICITING:

If you are unsure if this message applies to you please read the following:

Childcare inquires:
If you are inquiring about childcare, I do have openings for your child or children. I prefer to arrange meetings when the daycare is closed, however I will be willing to accommodate you if needed. I do have an ad in the laundry room with my contact information.

Service Providers:
If you work for a service provider I am happy to say that my current service provider is fully servicing my needs (of course customer service always needs room to improve, but that is with every company). If that changes at all, be assured that, I will hunt your company down in the YellowPages. Thank you for trying to save my family money, but it’s not needed at this time.

Donations:
I feel that we all should help our families out first so we can better help others in the community. With that said my family does donate to our chosen non-profit organizations, and will continue to do so in the future. I wish you the best for you and your agency and hope you reach your goal.

In Closing:
If none of the above applies to you, please understand before you knock. We have children here that could be napping or having a rest. Please knock in respect to this, and please don’t take offense if no one answers. After all, it could mean we are actually not home.

Take care and have a lovely day,

The residents of #____

Do you think it would work?

6 responses to “Knock, I Dare You!

  1. Maurice Wilburn December 9, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    This is great! I had this happen so often during the early days of babyhood with Little Berry. Once a girl knocked on my door and I opened it still nursing..she was selling magazines and terribly dehydrated as it was HOT out. I told her no but gave her a bottle of water to drink! Anyway, maybe you would be willing to share this- I’ve been considering something like this (except the first one) as we’ve just moved to a larger area and there is a lot more soliciting. Plus now there’s a doorbell. Gah!

    • Our Sentiments December 9, 2009 at 4:20 pm

      I forgot to give permission for others to tweak it and use it if they wish too. Just as long as you only use this for your own door (not to sell) and when and if anyone asks, you tell them who the original Author is 😉

  2. Ticia April 16, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    You should totally pin that up on your door.We have a sign on our door too stating “quiet Please, don’t ring doorbell, baby sleeping.” it’s written in Chinese and English since we live in a highly populated Chinese area and they STILL knock on the door or stomp up the front steps. Gah, the audacity of some people.

    • Our Sentiments April 17, 2010 at 12:48 am

      I would LOVE too, but in our building we can’t have person items on doors. Since I am looking after a 12 month old now, I think I will do it and see who long I can get away with it for LOL.

  3. Amanda May 17, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    Hey hun. What do you mean we cant have anything on our doors? I see lots of ppl hangin stuff off them and the 2 apartments we were in the all had nails in the door. I would post this as well. but now its gotten to the point i just yell “who is it” they say someone who i dont know i just simply tell them “go away plz” the one that is a real piss off is the ass super.. she doesnt knock. she uses her dam keys!

Leave a Reply

