Our Sentiments

Mothering and Life in General

DIY Play Kitchen

I remember as a child I had a kitchen, it was pretty good. Mom ended up making it out of cardboard. Although it might not sound appealing, it was great, and it was mine. I spent hours in my room playing chief. I absolutely LOVED it! Every child, boy and girl, should have a play kitchen in their toy collection.

I would like to share with you the kitchen that is now being played with, yet still has a few minor items like a facet, colour and other tweaks that need to be done to it. Other then these things, it’s been played with for hours every day and was worth the time and money invested in it.

What I Started With

Priming Stage 😦

Finished Painting

After my cousin helped cut the hole in for the sink

In working order, yet not totally finished

Pretty much finished product

All that this kitchen needs is colour and a facet. For those who are asking “How much it cost?” The shelves were given to us from our cousins, but here it the tally of the cost in Canadian Dollars:

Primer $14.00
Paint $20.00
Mac-Tac $2.00
Sink/Bowl $1.00
Paint Roller $5.00

So far the cost was: $42.00

And… I also primed and Paint the shelf where I put the girls toys!

4 responses to “DIY Play Kitchen

  1. Melodie December 28, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    Wow! This is absolutely incredible! Good for you!

  2. Lauren @ Hobo Mama April 1, 2010 at 12:39 am

    Gasp! This is too adorably awesome. Wish you could come over and make one for us. I might just have to get inspired…

    • Our Sentiments April 1, 2010 at 1:09 am

      It’s great! The only thing that broke was the oven/dishwasher door. I was putting the dishes away and it came off in my hand… So I will fix that later, it’s still working/playable though.

      Other good ideas I’ve seen was an entertainment center converted into a play kitchen and stuff on Ikea Hackers (look on my blog roll).

      Thxs for talking the time to see this post, I am looking forward into seeing your project!

Leave a Reply

