Our Sentiments

Mothering and Life in General

Recommendation: The Diva Cup

For some who read this, they may be thinking what on earth is a Diva Cup. Well people, I am writing about a feminine hygiene product, so for the uninterested please accept my apologies.

So as you may have guessed the Diva Cup is also known as a Menstrual Cup. I am a new user with only 2 months experience, but I would love to shout from the hill tops on the greatness of this product! I am pleasantly happy to have heard about this alternative from the women from www.kellymom.com forum. So again KMs I love you!

About the Diva Cup:

The Diva Cup is a silicone cup that comes in two sizes, 1 for women under 30 and who have not had children vaginally or by c-section and size 2 for women over 30 OR who have had children vaginally or by c-section. You fold the cup and insert as the instructions states. There are many sites that have support for those who are looking into getting a cup, getting information or are ‘troubleshooting’, I love www.menstrualcups.org. You may also find great clips on YouTube. You can find further product information of the Diva Cup website.

My Personal Experience:

My first attempt was pretty trying, but it does get better if you stick with it. I found that I had to try different folds to see what is best for me. I found that one is best for the beginning of my cycle and another for the duration. I first checked and cleaned the cup when I would normally when using the traditional products. Yet, finding out I never really had anything to worry about. All day never leaked, and I am a Daycare Provider, so less time changing and fussing is more time bugging.. um, playing with the children.

The first night I was very uncertain, but I put on old sheets and wore dingy night-clothes only to wake up the next morning with, again, nothing to worry about. The rest of my cycle was as usual, but I did notice that each time for insertion took less and less time doing.

After this being my second cycle, I still am very impressed with this product, and I wish that I found out about it sooner. I have talked to all my friends who have cycles telling them how much of a benefit the cup has been.

The Ick Factor:

When talking to others about this product I often hear about the ick factor on cleaning and changing the cup. Not to get too graphic and discuss all my readers, so I will be as in-descriptive as possible.

I always found the other traditional products that I have used in the past to be actually more gross than the cup. I find myself feeling and smelling a lot cleaner even during and after my cycle with this alternative and I don’t worry about the proper disposal of the other feminine products. Along with the concern of if my bathroom smells bad or has any little hands trying to fish out the garbage.

My Personal Benefits:

Since starting to use the cup I have found that there are many benefits, some I knew about before going into it, but others I didn’t. Here is a list:

  • Less cramps, the duration of my cycle has shortened by a day (Yippy!), and I actually don’t mind my cycle at all!
  • The Cup will pay for itself in 3 months and you can use for more than 1 year (even though it’s recommended on the Diva Cup site for only 1 year).
  • Less garbage to throw away and contaminate our earth.
  • I have saved money on pain relievers and from buying tampons, pads, and liners each month.
  • I don’t have to worry about being discrete when I go to the bathroom because no one knows what is in the pretty pouch (comes included).
  • I don’t have to worry about K2 wasting my products trying to fish in the bathtub with my tampons or making a new bathroom carpet with my pads and liners (all unused of course).

Other Alternatives:

If the cup does not sound like it’s a great fit for you, but you are interested in looking at other alternative products I have run into a few.

Sea Sponges: A tampon that you can reuse for up to 6 months. You still have to know about infections, before using you have to boil (just like the menstrual cups) and have to wash the sponge out every 3 hours. This is a product that I would not mind using for K2 for swimming when she get introduced to the wonderful world of womanhood.

Cloth Pads: From what I have heard cloth pads and liners have come along way since they first were used. You use these like you would with disposable pads and liners however you rinse and wring them, then wash. I have asked what about when you are out, other women take with them ziplock baggies and put them in there until they get home.  This product is costly for the start-up, just like cloth diapers, it will save you money in the long run. For even less cost you can even find patterns online and make your own, even though the ones you can buy are quite cute. This is another alternative that I will be looking into for K2 when her time comes.

Instead Softcup: This is a product I was looking into because I did not think I could find a retailer who sells the Diva Cup (which is made in Canada!). These are larger and inserted differently, but has the same concept as all the menstrual cups, instead this one is disposable. As far as I know you can buy this at Shoppers Drug Mart, but it’s hard to find.

If I had forgotten any please leave me a comment, I would love to find others.

3 responses to “Recommendation: The Diva Cup

  1. The DivaCup Team January 13, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    Thanks for the great review!

    Best wishes,

    The DivaCup Team

  2. Tonya August 25, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    This is an informative post. You could also let users know that Diva Cup is on Facebook. Here’s the link: http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/divacup?ref=ts

    Also, this is a great informative post about all the different kinds of menstrual cups available with lots of pics: http://menstrualcups.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

