Our Sentiments

Mothering and Life in General

Gentian Violet

So the time has come for me to be welcomed into the Gentian Violet Club. For those who know about this you will giggle, for those who don’t, will be puzzled.

Gentian Violet is used for nursing mothers to treat thrush. Usually thrush is more common in infancy; however I guess I am the lucky person to make it to the almost 3 year mark without joining the club. I am not meaning to brag, I did have other breastfeeding issues.

I am still trying to figure out how I ended up getting it. All I can think of are two things. Maybe K2 had a yeast infection and then played around there and then nursed and touched my breast or it was last month that she bit me. Either way I have had this for about a month and a half and did not think anything of it, besides the fact that my nipples where itchy as all get out!

I would wake up in the middle of the night scratching or in the morning with scratch marks on my breast. I just thought it was my nipple healing from the nice, wonderful bite she did while she was sleeping. When I heal I itch, I was told that was common. I did not think anything different. I went to an LLL meeting and was going to talk about it, only to remember the itchiness on my way home.

So the other night I figured that I would look into Thrush. As far as I knew, thrush was supposedly a painful experience that feels like crushed glass beyond the nipple. Also I thought that the child would experience symptoms as well (which I found out not be the case in an older child, since they brush their teeth). Neither she nor I had those symptoms at the time, but I read into it anyways. As dumb as I am, turns out that there are other symptoms to this infection. You can itch, have pain, have blisters, have shiny appearing looking skin or you can have flakey skin. I also found out that it could also be what is causing my belling area to rash up, since it spreads.

So after getting it looked at, I am a proud owner to purple nipples and areolae and a mother to child who looks like she ate Barney; quite funny if you ask me. Another thing I found out is it’s even funnier when you take your child out and a person questions what is all over their face. I told one what the real cause of it was, and she returned me with a blank freaked-out glance. So, after being asked at least another 3 times with the same response, on the 4th time I said she sucked on a pen.

For some strange reason the pen solution got a better acceptance than the Gentian Violet treatment. Are we ever strange creatures? It makes me wonder how our species made it this far.

4 responses to “Gentian Violet

  1. Amanda March 21, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    I still think you should have said she ate barney lol.. I hate it when others look at you in disaproveal over something they have to clue about! I hope this 2nd baby i can breastfeed longer then with nick.

    • Our Sentiments March 21, 2010 at 5:39 pm

      I did not know you read these LOL. Thanks for popping in! Yes, I am sure you can nurse longer with this one than with Nick. I can give you all the connections you need with a friendly call upstairs LOL. It’s tough, but I know you can do it.

  2. Pshouseblog March 31, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    Agh! We had thrush for so so so so so so long. Finally I went to both of our doctors and begged for diflucan and haven’t had any problems since. It was months and months of trying everything, including gentian violet though. I hope you are cleared up by now!

    • Our Sentiments March 31, 2010 at 8:51 pm

      To be quite honest, the BITA is back again. I am doing another treatment. Then I will be going to the Birth Experience to get a nipple ointment. I don’t want to explain to the doctor that yes, I am still breastfeeding and Thrush is because I don’t want to wean. That is the walk-in though; our Family Doctor is WONDERFUL! He stated to DH that he has children who are 7 that are still breastfeeding that comes into his office, he promotes and respects it. That is the only reason now, why I stay with him.

Leave a Reply

