Our Sentiments

Mothering and Life in General

Oh, No He Didn’t Tuesday

Welcome to “OH NO HE DIDN’T” TUESDAY, a super awesome blog carnival created by Kristi at Live and Love…Out Loud. Click on over to her blog to find out what made her and everyone else stop and say “OH NO HE DIDN’T!”

OH NO HE DIDN'T TUESDAY Banner

Our daughter was in pain for her first 5.5 months, we found her to have GERD. However, at a few weeks old, we did not know what was the cause of her crying.

She would cry all day, all night, I was running on 4 hours of sleep if I was lucky, and showering, eating or even toileting was just out of the question. The only way I could get her to quiet down and sleep was if she was held or when she was laying on my chest.

So I was bound to watching TV, reading books or on the internet. After weeks of this happening the house went to hell. My quick cleanup was to sweep the tables with my hands and put things in boxes, then in the storage they went. Eating resorted to granola bars, and showering never ended before I could start shaving my second leg.

DH, understandably, did not know what it was like to not have breaks and forever hearing a boil-water-add-baby cry. Since he worked full-time, and with K2’s cry he was staying away from the house for longer periods. He was getting angry with the fact I have all day at home with a newborn that only is supposed to eat, sleep and poo.

One day he came home too, again, a messy home, no dinner ready, and me on the couch, in my PJs, with K2 on my chest reading “Why is my baby crying?” and eating a granola bar. I was about to tell him about some cry charting the book suggested and about the possibility of Reflux, when he asks “Why is the house a mess? It must be nice to do nothing all day.”

Seriously!?!

I was livid, I told him K2 was SCREAMING all day, enough for me to take her to the walk-in, yet again, just to be told I hold her too much or that it was me. That she just fell asleep, I have held her so much that carpal tunnel is acting up again, I need a Moby, I am starving, I need to pee so bad, and I have not been able to have a shower because…

That is when he suggested I lay her down in the bassinet or cot…

Yup, because I have not thought about that one. I glared at him and called him a genius.

3 responses to “Oh, No He Didn’t Tuesday

  1. Kristi {at} Live and Love...Out Loud May 4, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    Eek! I don’t blame you for being annoyed. It’s hard enough caring for a healthy baby and trying to keep up with the house chores, but add a sick baby into mix and it’s a whole other story! One of my girls had GERD as well. It was terrible. I totally know what you’re going through. And your hubby? Oh boy. Bad move Mister! lol
    Thanks for participating in my blog carnival again this week! Have a great day.

    Kristi, Live and Love…Out Loud
    @TweetingMama

    PS The links in the little ONHD blurb aren’t working. Let me know if you need help fixing it. 🙂

  2. Joni Rae May 4, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    UGH!!! Sometimes they just don’t GET IT. 😦 Sorry mama. (((hug)))

Leave a Reply

