Our Sentiments

Mothering and Life in General

Without You

I think about my first Mother’s Day in 2007, you where only 23 days old. You were just discharged from the hospital 6 days earlier. We had close friends, to come and welcome you home. I think about my second Mother’s Day in 2008, you just turned one, and I mindlessly scheduled your birthday party for that day. I think about my third Mother’s day in 2009, where really nothing happened but just us together.

As I think about what the fourth would be like, I also think about the time when Mother’s Day wasn’t for me. A time where I was selfish; as selfish as selfish comes. I was ignorant that there was more to life than what I had.

I am lucky for Mother’s Day, not because they are supposed to be a day for mothers, but because it reminds me where I have come from, and how much I’ve grown. It does not matter of the gifts, or if I get nothing at all. A silent moment is all I need, so I can remember that without you there would be no Mother’s Day.

Without You

Without you there would be no late nights and early mornings, or tired afternoons. Without you there would be no pitter-patters down our halls, and no I love yous. Without you there would be empty, uncomfortable silences. Without you there would be no toys, baths, or mountains of clothes to wash.

Without you I would not appreciate, the luxury of long showers or shaving my legs. Without you I would not perfect multitasking and type as you play. Without you I would not understand how I under-estimated myself and patience. Without you I would not hear sighs in the night or talking in sleep.

Without you I would not know the other side of tantrums or the passion that it creates. Without you I would not hear “Mommy, watch this” or smile at your jokes. Without you I would not know the difference between a need or a want. Without you I would not remember what it meant to be a child.

Without you I would not know that new things does not make the person. Without you I would not value the concept of time. Without you I would not know what it means to witness life. Without you I would not know what tired really means. Without you I would not notice the ants in the sand.

Without you I would not have seen planes, birds and clouds in the sky. Without you I would not know how treasured it is to get dandelions and grass. Without you I would not know how much fun it is to play in mud. Without you I would not know that enough is better than trying to be perfect.

Without you, I would have never seen how the world really works. Without you, there would be no reason to get up. Without you, there would be no Mother’s Day. Most of all, without you, there would be no mother and my new reason for life.

Thank you for making this and every other Mother’s Day special.

2 responses to “Without You

  1. conscientiousness September 19, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    This is nice. Too bad these littles ones have to grow up and occassionally we feel like we are not wanted or appreciated. If they could just stay our little ones forever.

Leave a Reply

