Our Sentiments

Mothering and Life in General

Oh, No He Didn’t Tuesday

Welcome to “OH NO HE DIDN’T” TUESDAY, a super awesome blog carnival created by Kristi at Live and Love…Out Loud. Click on over to her blog to find out what made her and everyone else stop and say “OH NO HE DIDN’T!”

OH NO HE DIDN'T TUESDAY Banner

DH works at a toy company, who has decided that it was a great idea to have a sale and move at the same time. So DH is understandably working late most days. He also refs a Men’s Hockey League as well.

He works these two jobs so there will be enough for me to stay home. Well, honestly he was working the second refing job while I was getting an income from Maternity Leave, but that is another post. So we will keep it to his story.

So trying to plan K2’s birthday party around his schedule, well planning anything around his schedule is extremely hard. I am always tied between being angry to feeling guilty.

So back in March I decided to talk with him about what day to have K2’s birthday party. April being our Mother-of-all-Birthday-Months, we usually do her parties in May so she can attend other parties. So the decision was made to have her party on May 2nd.

So K2 and I picked out e-vites designs, people to come and sent the invites out. This is when I immediately get stressed out. You see I hate planning things, because nobody ever shows. I just have bad luck for planning (no cry for me needed, it’s just truth).

A week and a half before K2’s party, DH decides to tell me that because of the warehouse sale and the move he will have to work through K2’s party. I swear this boy does not want to live.

Let me paint a picture for you. There was going to be 10 children invited AND their parents. We are building wooden planes. The only cake that has Bob-the-Builder on it is not in walking distance, so I needed him to pick it up. All these people in one place with one person managing… EEEEEK!

I needed him to help me with the children, entertainment, take pictures and such. Besides this is his daughter too! I just can not believe that his boss would still make him work when DH told him its his daughter’s party. Well, I can, but I can’t!

I stressed so much about her party and was so angry with him not being here for it, that I did what I always do when pissed. I cleaned house. The night before, I put myself in a dither that I did not go so sleep until 3am and K2 woke up in excitement at 6.

Luckly, K2 settled for a cake with construction trucks on top, which was purchased at the grocery across the street, and luckly my father was here to help watch K2 while I re-cleaned my house.

By the time the first guest came at 12:30pm, I was close to being on my butt. By 2pm, 9 children showed. I was glad to be proven wrong, and acknowledge that I stressed for nothing. The party went great, better than the best party ever! Everyone had a great time.

The fault of it was me. I was so tired and out of it, one of the mothers asked me if I was going to pass out standing. I was so tired that I was feeling sick and felt a headache coming on.

Finally around 3:30pm DH came with K1. DH talked with a few people. I tried to serve K1 with some food, but she wanted nothing. Then I noticed DH was not around. I asked K1 where her father went and she replied “He’s laying down, he’s got a headache”.

Oh.No.He.Didn’t. Oh.No.He.SOOOOO.Didn’t!

Then next thing I noticed was K1 was nowhere to be found. Where is she, in the bedroom watching TV….

Oh.No.She.Isn’t.

Yup, thanks for the help DH and K1, thanks for spending some time with your sister, considering she has not seen you for 3 weeks and she cried because you wanted to go home early last visit!

7 responses to “Oh, No He Didn’t Tuesday

  1. @uniqueblog May 11, 2010 at 9:26 am

    That really stinks. It’s sad that most of the problems that came out of this situation were due to money: lack of two cars & DH having to work a lot. Eventhough your frustration w/ your spouse was about him bailing on you the root cause of him doing so was: a lack of money. It’s true when they say 80% of all marriage problems are rooted in $. Don’t get me wrong I still think bailing on you was a douchey move on your DH’s part even if he was tired. But just think if you were loaded. Could have had your nanny pick up the cake, had a housecleaner the day before, & your DH would have been there and had some other poor dude have the sale b/c he owns the place;)

    • Our Sentiments May 11, 2010 at 9:43 am

      Imagine if we were all loaded! You’re right a lot of evil surrounds money and I think it’s a higher percentage when it comes to fighting about it. It’s sad that our culture values it more than other things.

      I know DH would not have missed it other wise, I was more ticked off at the fact he went to bed. He always get uninterrupted sleep WHENEVER he wants (when he’s home). Wow that sounded like a whinny two year old LOL.

      Don’t worry next weeks Oh, No S/he Didn’t is IMO quite cute 😉

  2. Kristi {at} Live and Love...Out Lodu May 11, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    OH NO HE DIDN’T!
    You poor thing! I can’t believe he went to bed with a “headache”. I sure hope he’s made it up to you since then. That really sucks! 😦 I’m glad your little one had a great birthday party though.
    Thanks so much for playing along! 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you come up with next week. Have a great day.

    Kristi, Live and Love…Out Loud
    @TweetingMama

  3. The Drama Mama May 11, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    I can relate. My DH pulls this stuff every night when he comes home. Yeah, I know he is tired, but so am I. Why not help me with dinner and getting the kids into bed so we can BOTH relax?

    I’m stopping in from Live and Love Out Loud.

    • Our Sentiments May 11, 2010 at 2:17 pm

      I hear ya, they forget that we don’t get coffee/smoke breaks, adult time, and half hour lunches. It’s not a daycare where you work with others in a common interest. Well it’s like a daycare, but nobody knows the common interests.

      I get that he works, but so do I, without me staying home we would have to pay another ‘rent’ for K2 daycare. He does not see things this way. I am saving this family money.

      Thx for stopping by!

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Oh, No He Didn’t Tuesday | Our Sentiments -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

