Our Sentiments

Mothering and Life in General

Oh, No He Didn’t Tuesday

Welcome to “OH NO S/HE DIDN’T” TUESDAY, a super awesome blog carnival created by Kristi at Live and Love…Out Loud. Click on over to her blog to find out what made her and everyone else stop and say “OH NO S/HE DIDN’T!”

OH NO {S}HE DIDN'T! Banner

A bit of a brief: We live in an apartment building, we used to live on the 17th floor then moved down a few floors. I miss our 17th floor, at least up there it was quiet! It was like we were in our own little neck of the woods. Now being in the lower floors we have noisy people above, below and across from us.

Today I am going to write about the people below us. These people are loud, and they drink way too much. Mind you I can appreciate if one wants to have a good time, but there is a time and a place for it. I don’t mean to walk around on egg shells, but there is something called respect. When a guest bangs on the balcony rails at 2 in the morning; Or when you curse and swear at your spouse most drunken nights until the sun comes up. This is not respect, it’s not even decent. Especially when you wake my daughter up and get the dog barking from the building across from us.

It’s not even funny when you try to run a Day Care business and your neighbors hoot and holler or crank up music during nap time. Not just I-can-hear-a-bit-of-music, it’s I-can-feel-your-music-in-the-floors loud! Not only waking up the child they woke up the night before, but also the baby, who is now tired, fussy, scared and crying. Of course this leaves everyone in a bad frame of mind.

Here is where I draw the line though. I don’t care what colour you are, nor do I care where you were born. I do not think anyone has the leverage to say the “N” word. I don’t care what you say, or even if you feel you are entitled to saying this word. You’re wrong, you don’t. For me to even fathom saying this word for historical education does not settle right for me either, yet I do understand and only then will I bite my tongue.

I don’t care that because of your history, or culture that you feel the right to ‘change’ the meaning of this word. Nor do I care that you think that you only have the rights to saying it because your Great, Great, Great, Grandpappy bla bla bla bla bla. I. Don’t. Care. If you want to be technical, it’s apart of my history too, it was my ancestors who gave this name to yours.

This word should be abolished, not even the uneducated should say this word. Period, end of story. What I really detest, is that one would think it’s ok to say within hearing distance of K2. Like you did not know there was children upstairs…

Yes, my downstairs neighbors thought it was ok, in anger, to call their drunken friend this word. Loud enough for K2 to hear, then repeat only hours afterwards. Mind you this happened a few months ago, but I hear them saying it all the time while K2 is on the balcony with me. She looks at me and says, ‘Mommy, I don’t say that word, right?” Come on, I don’t know how many times I have requested for them NOT to say that word.

Some might think to leave it alone, and not have K2 on the balcony at all. Some would say educate K2 on the meaning of the word and when she says it to tell her that it’s not a pleasant word to say. To keep enforcing this and she will eventually get it. Well, that wont work in my house. K2 lives here, and if she wants to come out with us on the balcony, then she should be allowed. If we want to open our windows and balcony door, because it’s warm inside, then we should also be able to. We do pay rent and K2 is three!

This word is insulting but it’s even more so, when people feel they can freely speak this word where children can hear. This word will always mean what it did hundreds of years ago. It might mean something else too you and your friend, but when I hear it, it reminds me of the story my father told me after my ass met his leather belt. Back to a time where the colour white was better than any other, and where people were better off to be whipped and slaved and not what could happen. A time where there was no humanity in anything other than the colour of my skin and where your heart was not worthy to beat unless you looked like me.

This word will never become a ‘brotherly/sisterly love’ thing, if I can’t hear this word and not think about how inhumane my people where. This word to me is the device in which was to whip and belittle another just for complection. To me the use of this word continues to diminish the rights of freedom and life. To think this word will be giving a different identity, to you I say “Oh, no you didn’t”.

3 responses to “Oh, No He Didn’t Tuesday

  1. Tracy (AKA The Mayor!) June 15, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    I so agree!! This word is as offensive to me as the “c” word I so despise!! I’d tell them off, pointing out the little ears around, & of course you & your kids have every right to use & enjoy your own balcony!!

    • Our Sentiments June 15, 2010 at 12:45 pm

      Oh, I have. I’ve called the police, the supers and Management… They are still here and they wont transfer us either. They already had two written warnings. The Super, well she said they are aloud to make reasonable amount of noise, but she couldn’t tell me what her definition of reasonable is.

      To top it off, this word does sound funny to children. It has all the funky sounds they like, I am so thankful that K2 only said it once. I am so glad she does not repeat it. I seriously would rather her say the ‘F’ then that word.

  2. Kristi {at} Live and Love...Out Loud June 15, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    How horrible! I hate that you have to live above those kinds of neighbors. It’s too bad the Super isn’t doing more about it. I don’t particularly care for the n* word and I don’t use it either. If my kids were to pick that word up from someone else, I’d be highly upset.
    Thanks for playing along this week. I’m sorry you’ve had a terrible time since the move. I hope things get better for you and your family. Take care.

    Kristi, Live and Love…Out Loud
    @TweetingMama

Leave a Reply

