Our Sentiments

Mothering and Life in General

Carnival of Nursing in Public: A Moment That Matters #CarNIP

Welcome to the July 2010 Carnival of Nursing in Public

This post was written for inclusion in the Carnival of Nursing in Public hosted by Dionna and Paige at NursingFreedom.org. All week, July 5-9, we will be featuring articles and posts about nursing in public (“NIP”). See the bottom of this post for more information.

*************************

The children cried all day today. Our daughter made a huge mess and did not want to help clean it. I am stressed and running on little to no sleep the past 2 weeks. The walls are closing in on me, I have never had cabin fever this bad.

I decide to go to the mall, walk around, be among the humans again. Here children run and laugh as other mothers pull out their hair. I decide to do this after nap time so maybe the chance of a good window shop will prevail.

Our daughter awakens with a bright sunny smile and I sigh with the hopes I have. Please, please let this be a good outing, I beg. I dress our daughter and comb her hair. I allow her to choose what shoes she would like to wear and then we are off.

At the mall, our daughter informs me of things she thinks I need to buy and what we could use these new purchases for. I smile to myself, because she pretty much had the uses right. It was then, her eyes are caught, a little to the left.

“Mommy, look.” she whispers, “That Mommy and baby is nursing”, with an innocent expression on her face. As she silently connects with the nursing baby. We both steal from this mother and baby, a moment to call our own.

The Mother looks up in our direction and our daughter shies away behind my legs. I could tell this mother was shocked from us looking. Yet, I smile and mouth a thank-you. I look down and caress the top of our daughter’s head and down towards her cheek , ever so thankful she noticed this precious act.

Still do this day, I wonder if this mother knows how much that moment meant. I hope she understood what that thank-you was for. I tenderly wanted her to feel the power of that simple moment and for her to know she’s done so much, without really doing anything at all.

To me, this was an important sentiment, for our daughter to see another nursing child. She does not get to see it much, but when she does, it’s like she is at peace. During this time, my edges soften and my tensions release.

Now, it does not matter that the daycare children fussed all day or there is a mess at home with my name on it. It does not matter there are an endless list of choirs. Nor does it matter I am among the sleepless zombie parents.

All that matters, is that connection our daughter felt, with the simple act of breastfeeding in public.


Art by Erika Hastings at http://mudspice.wordpress.com/

Welcome to the Carnival of Nursing in Public

Please join us all week, July 5-9, as we celebrate and support breastfeeding mothers. And visit NursingFreedom.org any time to connect with other breastfeeding supporters, learn more about your legal right to nurse in public, and read (and contribute!) articles about breastfeeding and N.I.P.

Do you support breastfeeding in public? Grab this badge for your blog or website to show your support and encourage others to educate themselves about the benefits of breastfeeding and the rights of breastfeeding mothers and children.

This post is just one of many being featured as part of the Carnival of Nursing in Public. Please visit our other writers each day of the Carnival. Click on the links below to see each day’s posts – new articles will be posted on the following days:

July 5 – Making Breastfeeding the Norm: Creating a Culture of Breastfeeding in a Hyper-Sexualized World

July 6 – Supporting Breastfeeding Mothers: the New, the Experienced, and the Mothers of More Than One Nursing Child

July 7 – Creating a Supportive Network: Your Stories and Celebrations of N.I.P.

July 8 – Breastfeeding: International and Religious Perspectives

July 9 – Your Legal Right to Nurse in Public, and How to Respond to Anyone Who Questions It

23 responses to “Carnival of Nursing in Public: A Moment That Matters #CarNIP

  1. Lauren @ Hobo Mama July 6, 2010 at 5:06 am

    Oh, that is absolutely beautiful. Thank you for taking us into your story.

    We’ve had the same response to seeing another nursing mama-and-baby pair. My son is absolutely fascinated and finds it so right.

    • Our Sentiments July 6, 2010 at 5:36 pm

      I can fully understand the fascination with children. I have had to stop K2 from running to a mother and lifting the blanket off. She knows what is happening, I think that is why in the above situation she was quiet about it. Now she will point it out, but it’s not very often we see breastfeeding. Sadly, we see it more in the bathroom than in the open, something I don’t want my daughter to learn where nursing is done.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Carnival of Nursing in Public: A Moment That Matters #CarNIP | Our Sentiments -- Topsy.com

  3. Mama Bennie July 6, 2010 at 11:19 am

    This story is absolutely beautiful.

  4. Dionna @ Code Name: Mama July 6, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    This post made me cry, I think mostly because I’ve heard of so many mothers covering up their children’s eyes when they see a breastfeeding mama. I love the innocence of little ones who want to peek at a nursing babe! Even if they aren’t familiar with it, they don’t find anything wrong with it. Thank you for your words to that mother – I’m sure she understood 🙂

    • Our Sentiments July 6, 2010 at 5:40 pm

      Yes, I hear that all the time, parents not wanting their children see it. I have always been one who does thinks differently. I want her to see it, I want her to notice and share with me when she sees nursing. I feel that the more she sees it, the more chance she will be able to breastfeed her children. It’s a tradition I would like to pass on.

  5. Erin W. / Beatnik Momma July 6, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    What a beautiful narrative! You’ve really captured this moment in a sweet and touching way. Thanks so much for sharing! ❤

    • Our Sentiments July 6, 2010 at 8:11 pm

      Erin I am sorry for not approving sooner. You were at the bottom and I was confuse on why it said I one comment left to moderate. Thank you dropping by, I am glad you liked the post.

  6. Our Sentiments July 6, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    Thank you for those who stopped by (Baj4lif, Mama Bennie and others who did not leave comments). I am still trying to get through everyone’s posts on the carnival and leave a comment. So sorry for taking so long to respond or post your comments 🙂

  7. CurlyMonkey July 6, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    It is a beautiful moment. Your thank you is very moving too.

  8. Allie July 6, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    This truly is a beautiful post. Thank you for sharing the moment with us all!

  9. Jess@minimalistmum July 6, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    Made me go all teary! 🙂

  10. JoEllen July 7, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    so sweet!!!

    i always loved it when our little nieces would ask about breastfeeding because they had never seen it before and thought it was such a novel idea that a baby could eat from something other than a bottle!

    • Our Sentiments July 8, 2010 at 8:01 am

      I too love the reactions from the younger children as well. When there is no external involvement a young child will come and be curious and usually sit on the nursing mothers lap. Some how and some way they will continue to communicate with the nursing child. Of course this is from my experience only.

  11. Casey July 7, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    What a sweet story! I hope that even if your daughter doesn’t remember that specific experience, she somehow remembers the sweetness of it.

  12. Kristi {at} Live and Love...Out Loud July 16, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    There’s something to be said of that connection nursing mothers share when they see eachother in public. It sounds like the same can be said of nursing children. This is a beautifully written post!
    Thanks so much for stopping by. Have a great weekend.

    Kristi, Live and Love…Out Loud
    @TweetingMama

Leave a Reply

