Our Sentiments

Mothering and Life in General

Buggy on Bugs – Update

A photo of The Thinker by Rodin located at the...

Image via Wikipedia

I am not an intolerant person towards bugs. I feel each one has a job to do. I don’t mind spiders or silverfish or worms, but I do draw the line with sharing my food, my body and my bed. When it comes to be being a meal, excluding the little beings I created,  the line has been so far past you can’t even see it anymore. I feel leaving my family’s body, food, pets and bed alone is something that is a reasonable expectation, that should be taken into consideration once the ‘small ones’ take a vacation at my house. Don’t get me wrong I don’t roll out the red carpet to these pests, I am saying with no offense intended, you would never see me standing on a chair screaming about a spider.  Well, you would hear me shrieking at the person who killed a spider at my house, but that is about it. All that I ask is they don’t sneak up on me in the dark of the night, when I am the only one awake. That shit is just not funny.

I have spent the past several days thinking over our situation, in which I have to honestly admit, that in situations like these I am a bit freaky. I would like to share with you my personal stages of being buggy about bugs (if that is what you want to call them, they are IMO, parasites). Please note there is cursing in here, so if you do not like to see this please overlook this post.

 

“You have to be fuckin’ kidding me!!!!”: Yes, that is the first thing that came out of my mouth once I ‘diagnosed’ our issue. Heart elevated, as I looked at our bedding. Call it the denial stage or the shock stage, does not matter. Just something I wish on no one.

Stop the World I Want Off: I felt dirty. I did not know if it was us that started it. There was no notices in the building, no talks in the common areas – nothing. You would think a situation like this would spread fast. I was thinking we had to be the first. I walked around the apartment, had a few cigarettes, and I wished for some wine. At this point, the ‘visitors’ had me defeated. I wanted to sit in a corner and cry. I gave up, I wanted to leave. They won, the white flag is up. I will be leaving on the next bus, have fun with the place. Hope I tasted good, um, ok bye! They took everything, our bed, our bedding, K2’s toys, everything was gone. On $400 per month, how can I cover anything new? Defeat, pity party, swallow me whole.

As DH Would Say, “Suck It Up!”: Suck.it.up! After my pity-my-poor-family hours in the night, I was empowered to realize I am the only one in this home with experience with quarantines and pest control. It’s not the first building I have lived in and I was an older child when my mother needed my help before our home was sprayed. My experience is what is going to get us out of this. Suck it up, or they are going to take over. That is when my analytical mind came into overdrive and I started planning what to quarantine first.

Knowledge is Power… Well, So They Say: I am all for educating yourself, but there are just some things I really did not want to have to know. Such as, my visitors are known to travel 20 feet to their meal. Their meal, would of course, be us. Our apartment is not that big. Our bedroom is not that far away from our save living room. Siting at my glider on the computer my arm is getting itchy…

“You have to be fuckin’ kidding me!!!!”: Yes, we are back here again. I never said once you move past a stage, it does not welcome you back with open arms. They took my freaking chair! The chair I sit at while nursing our daughter, the chair that I have a love hate relationship with. The only chair, with the help of cushions, that is comfortable with my arm issues. They.Took.Over.My.Chair. They took the chair in the only room I have quarantined. The only place I was able to think as safe. They took it, all within 24 hours of knowing. I was scared, I was mad. I heaved my wooden glidder on the balcony, mumbling profanities, I threw it in the corner. I can see it as I type this, poor lonely wooden glidder, I miss how you used to tip just at the moment I was getting up with K2 in my arms, sleeping.

Sleepless in B-Town: This was not a romance comedy either. I spent the rest of the night on a hard, cushion-free, dinning room chair with tape in the legs. I was hesitant to lay K2 on the bed. So I held her, until the pain went to my shoulders. When I did lay her down on the Queen size blow up mattress, I sat for an hour watching her sleep, just to see if she would scratch. Then being afraid to go to sleep, every movement of your child wakes you up in a fright. You check your bed, blanket, and pillows. Then you reinspect them again. I was not certain if they were there, hungrily waiting. We folded our blankets, pillows and blow up mattress, placed them in bags and put them out on the balcony for the cold to get them. I checked K2 from head to toe for more bites, not knowing that old bites takes a few days to ’emerge’. Every new spot of angry red was a flashing, you-should-have-known sign in my face. I was angry now, they messed with the wrong child!

This Means WAR!: I have spent over $80 dollars on eczema products, I have spent close to $30 on probiotics. All for a ‘rash’ on K2’s skin that I thought the doctors were overlooking. I knew something was wrong, however, I did not think it was bed bugs! I was looking into spending $50 plus for Black Deep Sea Mud and taking out dyes in her food. I knew we needed a new bed, but it could have waited. I knew we needed a new couch, but that could have waited too. I really did not need some evil living Dracula Bug to kick our asses in gear, especially so close to K2’s Birthday! If I was going down, I am taking those fuckers with me too!

Burn Down the House: This one says it all. After the I-am-taking-you-down-with-me thinking, I thought about burning the blood suckers. There was no escape. We can’t go to a friend’s house, we can’t move, we can’t go to the mall, we are walking around naked until we leave the house. What else can these little apple seed sized monsters do? To top everything off with a coating of sprinkles, management KNEW there where 5 other apartments in my area, and they did not mention it. Nothing was said. Do you think my neighbor who was sprayed 2 weeks before us noticing our visitors, tell us? Nope. Why would he do that?

Chuck, Chuck, Geese: After finding out some great history against my attackers, I wanted everything infested out of my house. I don’t need a hundred bugs tracking K2 in the night. I wanted them out. All the geese can stay but the bugs needs to be chucked. We had more chucks than geese, I could not believe the stuff we threw away. Anything I was going to sell that K2 grew out of, things DH has not gotten around to throwing away (don’t ask). A lot of stuff was lost, but worth my sanity in the night. After most of the buggy things were out, and the bedding and clothing in our room were bagged, I felt a lot better, or maybe it was just the lack of sleep playing tricks on me.

Evil is Among Us: I surprise myself all the time, but this stage just really disturbed me. These little things are like a black hole, that sucks you into their dysfunction. I started to feel vindictive, not just the I am going to overpower you feeling. The crazy-ex-slash-your-tires sort of feelings.  As I was on the phone joking about taking a few of the monsters into a small container and drowning them in their ‘food’ and not only do I wonder how long I have been laying my daughter down in a buggy bed, I just could not help but to think how long have I been having unwanted orgies? I pondered what their meaning is. What are they here to do. Just as I mentioned above, everything has a purpose, a ‘Greater Good’ purpose. Not these heartless basters. They are here to drive us mad, and they do a very swell job of it. Then I search for other bugs who eat bed bugs and I came across one crazy fucker called The Masked Assassin (AKA, The Masked Hunter, but I like the drama of Assassin, in this particular situation). Isn’t the name great? I wanted to take a few of my guests and an Assassin put them together in a glass tank and enjoy the festivities. I don’t know, maybe they would send a signal to the rest of the pack, they are tracked and are going down. Maybe they can send out smoke signals, telling the rest they pushed me beyond insanity, I am one crazy bitch.

“If You Have Enough Time To Argue With Me, You Have Enough Time To Bag!”: I can’t tell you how many times this harshly came out of my mouth over the last week. I don’t understand why people have to fight me on things all the time, but there are reasons to my madness. Not saying I am smart or perfect, it just takes me some time to take action. Once I do, don’t get in my way, or you will be fucked up. I thought for 24 hours, and even in my dreams I was plotting my action of attack. We can’t do the contaminated room, in risk of pushing them all in the safe areas. We can’t lay in bed without having a shower first. We have to take off our shoes by the door. Shoes that are used in ‘the room’ can’t be used outside. Things need to be bagged and not passed through other areas of the home. It’s a snowball effect, and if you think too hard on it, it leaves you with a damned if you do, damned if you don’t approach. I would not be brought to this level. I forbid it. Seriously, if you have to bitch and chew about how things are going to be done, then just fuck off. Your wasting your time, trying to tell me I am taking over the apartment and making rules you don’t agree too. Look at my face, does it say I give a fuck? Not today, sorry. Things from here now out, will be done my way, or you can have the door hit on your way out, don’t forget about the free T-Shirt.

Best Served Cold, um, or HOT…. (evil cackle): There are two known ways to kill these dreaded things, Heat and long periods of below freezing temperatures. Since pesticides are not working because of immunities, the only other way to help with quarantine is to get nature on your side. We bagged up K1/Playroom first. We stashed all the bags on the balcony. We cleaned the room out of toys and moved everything into the middle of the room. I then moved to the hall closet, bathroom and linen cupboard. Stacked them outside too. As much stuff that would fit on the balcony was put out there. Lastly we worked on the “Doomed Room”. Another fun way to kill these creatures is heat, and lots of it. So I had the greatest honor (sense my sarcasm?) to do the infested laundry. I loaded it up with Borax (BTW, Borax is unknown on whether it kills bedbugs, but it’s worth it to do anyways IMO). Carefully ensuring K2 does not touch anything on the way down to the laundry mat was fun. A few things were thrown out after the wash, because there was no way I was ever going to see that item in the same light again. It was nice, in an insane way, to think that finally they are getting back the torment they gave us. 50 minutes of high heated hell, served in a silver coloured drum, on the house!

Diatomaceous Earth (DE): Oh, how I love nature! Who would have known that some shelled algae could be an answer to this mess. I know it’s not a guarantee solution, but it gives some hope. I am questioning the regular use of this product. In reading the uses, I am concerned that since DE is given to animals and comes out the way it goes in. That this can harm other ‘good’ insects in nature, because we use the manure with DE as fertilizer. I feel everything has a cause and effect, and the main area we should be looking at is prevention. I think we should use our past mistakes on Pest Control and educate people, as the priority. So as disgusted you are, be one with the bed bug. Act and think like one. Empower yourself with everything you can get your hands on with these dreaded things. We were sprayed on the 22nd, which is another if-it-could-go-wrong-it-did-go-wrong post I wont bore you with, and I have only seen them in the bags of clothes I have washed.

Taking It All Back: We still don’t feel comfortable with being in the master room for long periods of time, but we did take back K1’s/Playroom. We have plans to switch the rooms and give the girls the larger room, AFTER the crazies are gone. The small room will be enough for two shelves on either side of the bed (but far enough away to prevent a ladder for bugs), a king-size bed, and best of all, NO TV! It’s going to be awhile before I feel comfortable with buying anything for this apartment. In the mean time, I am window shopping. DH and I agreed (for the first time) on curtains for the living room, which is a validation that things seem to be improving (another update is needed on this topic, I know). It’s not a happy ever after, but things are better. They will be doing a second spray in a few weeks, and 4 floors are reported to have bed bugs. My father bought the Pest Repeller Ultimate® AT and we are waiting for it to arrive. I am not sure when I will start to use it, because I am afraid to move them from where they are hiding to other areas they are not. Maybe I should drink a lot of wine that night? BTW that was a joke, I rarely ever drink.

Scratch My Back, I’ll Scratch Yours: Thanks for everyone’s support and understanding my sick humor lately. I know I am all itchy from writing this, I can’t imagine reading it would be.  DH says I have monkey arms, because I can reach every inch of my back. I will gladly send over some scratching relief if you every need it. I really hope no one goes through this. Again I urge you to educate yourself and protect your mattress and box spring, not just for bed bugs, but for your mattress’ hygiene. Hopefully this is the last of the posts on bugs.

 

Leave a Reply

